A prayer for Cambodia

January 3, 2014

Garment workers are dying in Phnom Penh so it makes it a little hard for me to give a tourist account of Siem Reap and Angkor Wat.  Our stay here was peaceful, accented by our lovely tuk tuk driver, Hoan.  In the three days that we spent together touring the extensive ruins, we talked a little politics.  He would like to see reform.  He has left his village to work in Siem Reap.  He is making a living for his wife and daughter by being an excellent driver for our guesthouse managers.  And he understands that $80 a month, the minimum wage for garment workers in Cambodia, would not be enough for him to support his family.

I will post a few pictures of the beauty of Angkor Wat and say a prayer for the workers of Cambodia.

Apsara, the dancing Goddess.  The temples of Angkor Wat are  wonderful mix of hindu and buddhist figures.

Apsara, the dancing Goddess. The temples of Angkor Wat are wonderful mix of hindu and buddhist figures.

We visited temples on New Years day.  I was blessed by 4 nuns in 4 temples and have the 4 yarn bracelets in red green, and yellow to prove it.

We visited temples on New Years day. I was blessed by 4 nuns in 4 temples and have the 4 yarn bracelets in red green, and yellow to prove it.

Ta Prohm.  The powers that be decided to leave renovate this temple around the trees that have grown around the rocks since 1186 when it was built.  We were there just after sunrise and I enjoyed the relative silence of stone, gods, trees and parrots calling from the treetops.  Remarkable.

Ta Prohm. The powers that be decided to leave renovate this temple around the trees that have grown around the rocks since 1186 when it was built. We were there just after sunrise and I enjoyed the relative silence of stone, gods, trees and parrots calling from the treetops. Remarkable.

Meet Borramey, my new Facebook friend.  When she is not studying language or computer she is at the temple that her grandfather cared for telling tourists about what they are seeing.  It was delightful to spend some time with her and help her along her way to her goal.  She is planning on being in the States in 5 years and I can be tour guide then.  The object in her hand is a Cambodian mouth harp that she makes from bamboo.  I have a few years to try to figure out how she made that sound.

Meet Borramey, my new Facebook friend. When she is not studying language or computer she is at the temple that her grandfather cared for telling tourists about what they are seeing. It was delightful to spend some time with her and help her along her way to her goal. She is planning on being in the States in 5 years and I can be tour guide then. The object in her hand is a Cambodian mouth harp that she makes from bamboo. I have a few years to try to figure out how she made that sound.

Banyon.  Wish I had been there at sunrise to sit with these faces.  It was crowded and still worth the time.

Banyon. Wish I had been there at sunrise to sit with these faces. It was crowded and still worth the time.

Ankgor Wat proper has 800 meters  of these fabulous bas relief carvings.

Ankgor Wat proper has 800 meters of these fabulous bas relief carvings.

My Khymer language teacher.  He was selling postcards "10 for one dolla."  Instead of buying those, I bought a Khymer lesson.  What's this in Khymer, I said pointing to my nose, my ear, my eye and the most laughs came when I stuck out my tongue.  Maybe he will remember the crazy lady who said, "Teachers can make more than postcard salesman" and maybe he won't

My Khymer language teacher. He was selling postcards “10 for one dolla.” Instead of buying those, I bought a Khymer lesson. What’s this in Khymer, I said pointing to my nose, my ear, my eye and the most laughs came when I stuck out my tongue. Maybe he will remember the crazy lady who said, “Teachers can make more than postcard salesman” and maybe he won’t

Leave a Reply

